Slow Horses returns for season 2, based on Dead Lions

1 Mins read

Apple TV+ has announced that series two of Slow Horses will be available to stream from 2 December and fans of the quirky London-based espionage drama can’t wait.

Based on the Slough House series of novels by British author Mick Herron, the show follows the disgraced and disgraceful Cold War spook Jackson Lamb (Gary Oldman) who now heads up an MI5 outpost called Slough House. It’s where the service sends its miscreant and error-prone spies, giving them pointless projects away from trouble. However, once in a while the ‘slow horses’ prove themselves useful and embarrass their superiors over at Regent’s Park.

Season two picks up the story of River Cartwright (Jack Bowden, pictured), a capable operative assigned to Slough House who believes he can redeem himself and return to the fold. Having helped resolve a kidnapping case involving far right domestic terrorism in season one, now Cartwright and Lamb will be facing off against Russian sleeper agents re-activating in London and, of course, their home turf rivals at MI5 HQ.

The story is based on the 2013 novel Dead Lions, which we reviewed on publication.

There’s also the mystery of Sidonie ‘Sid’ Baker (Olivia Cooke) whom MI5 head Diane Taverner (Kristin Scott Thomas) reported dead in the first series, but who could still be alive. The Slough House tech whizz Roddy Ho (Christopher Chung) believes he has a lead on her location. Maybe we’ll find out why Sid was spying on River Cartwright. Or, maybe not…

Season one is recommended viewing, and the books are even better! To find out more, read our guide to the Slough House series here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related posts

The Tumbling Girl by Bridget Walsh

The new historical mystery The Tumbling Girl by Bridget Walsh blends murderous deeds with a healthy dose of romance between an unlikely pair of investigators. Set in the Victorian era, Walsh’s novel effectively evokes the sights, smells and sounds of 1870s London, while believably capturing…

The Man in the Corduroy Suit by James Wolff

James Wolff writes a different kind of spy novel. His British intelligence agents are renegades. Jonas Worth and August Drummond, the protagonists of Beside the Syrian Sea and How to Betray Your Country, respectively, both found themselves at odds with their bureaucracies. Wolff’s storytelling skills…

Interview: James Wolff

Steadily, quietly, with the stealth of an MI5 agent, you could say, James Wolff has been building his reputation as a creator of spy stories that are grounded and intelligent, with a little wit and quite a bit of compassion too. How does espionage –…
Crime Fiction Lover