Trap Door

Written by Dreda Say Mitchell — While many of Dreda Say Mitchell’s earlier novels have focused on London’s ganglands and young characters in that setting,…

England’s Finest

The exploits of extraordinary elderly eccentrics DCIs Arthur Bryant and John May of the Peculiar Crimes Unit in London are misremembered with much black humour…

Nothing Important Happened Today

Will Carver’s unsparing portrayal of modern society is startlingly original and crime fiction at its most compelling. The People of Choice is a cult that…

Interview: Dreda Say Mitchell

There was fantastic news for the crime fiction community at the end of 2019 when the London-based author Dreda Say Mitchell was awarded an MBE.…

  • Published in Features

Secret Service

Written by Tom Bradby — With a plot that would have seemed far-fetched just a few years ago, Tom Bradby’s latest political thriller feels like…

England’s Finest

Written by Christopher Fowler — ­It often feels like you have hit the jackpot when you fall in love with books featuring terrific fictional characters…

Interview: Leigh Russell

It’s 10 years since DI Geraldine Steel first appeared in print, and to date her creator Leigh Russell has sold more than a million copies…

  • Published in Features

The Regret

Written by Dan Malakin — Rachel is a single mum who works as a nurse at St Pancras Hospital in London. She is revelling in…

The Lying Room

Written by Nicci French — It was back in the 18th century when Sir Walter Scott penned the line, “Oh, what a tangled web we…

Endgame

Written by Daniel Cole — Fans of Ragdoll and Hangman have been waiting impatiently for the final book in this trilogy. Well, here it is…

Those People

Written by Louise Candlish — With her penchant for writing books about the perils of owning a property, London-based author Louise Candlish is rapidly turning…

Out of the Ashes

Vicky Newham’s second novel to feature DI Maya Rahman starts with a bang – literally – as one of the new businesses blamed for gentrifying…

Joe Country

Written by Mick Herron — Summer brings with it the sixth novel in Mick Herron’s acclaimed series about the MI6 cast-offs and screw-ups who together…

Never Be Broken

Written by Sarah Hilary — Hot on the heels of Vicky Newham’s Out of the Ashes comes another police procedural novel set slap bang in…