THE SITE FOR DIE HARD CRIME & THRILLER FANS
iBookKindlePrintReviews

Endgame

2 Mins read

Written by Daniel Cole — Fans of Ragdoll and Hangman have been waiting impatiently for the final book in this trilogy. Well, here it is at last! Both of the previous books got five stars when they were reviewed on Crime Fiction Lover, so there’s plenty to live up to here. Does the conclusion of the series manage to hit the mark? Errm, yes and no.

As Endgame opens, everyone is still reeling from the aftermath of Ragdoll, and not all of them are coping too well. Things are about to get even worse for former police detective William ‘Wolf’ Fawkes. He’s called to the home of his former colleague and mentor, retired DS Finlay Shaw, by Shaw’s wife, Maggie. To all intents and purposes it looks like a slam-dunk suicide – Shaw’s body was found dead inside a sealed room, after all. But Wolf is certain his old pal would never have killed himself and is determined to get to the truth of the matter.

There’s one small problem though. Because Wolf is a wanted man and as soon as more of his former colleagues get to the scene he’s in handcuffs and taken to a police cell, where he shortly has some pretty high-profile visitors. It’s Met Commander Geena Vanita and Commissioner Christian Bellamy and Wolf has a proposition for them: set him free to investigate Finlay’s death. Vanita is dead against it, but Bellamy is ready to cut him some slack. After all, he and Shaw were partners in the 1970s, up in Scotland and later down in London.

Soon Wolf is receiving a begrudging welcome from his former team, including Chief Inspector Emily Baxter who has other things on her mind. Like harbouring a wanted and badly injured fugitive in her flat, but that’s another, highly entertaining, story. The thing is, everyone believes Shaw’s death was self-inflicted and they’re not prepared to listen to the thoughts of an obviously deranged former detective. Then Wolf discovers something which could turn the investigation on its head…

I’ve already used the word entertaining and it sums up this book perfectly. Cole has a lightness of touch and a quirky sense of humour which invariably lightens the mood when things perhaps get a little dark. All the surviving main characters from Ragdoll and Hangman are in play here and things rip along at pace as we jump between Shaw and Bellamy’s 1970s back story and the current investigation. Back in the day there was something of The Sweeney about the pair of devil-may-care young detectives, so how did Shaw stay a lowly sergeant while his pal flew to the top of the tree?

Those vintage scenes have a real air of authenticity, but it is the moments shared by Wolf and Baxter that shine. They’re a cracking pair of characters and it’s fun watching them circle each other like wary prize fighters. They have a history, but will that prove to be a hindrance or a help?

There’s so much to love about this book: the sneaky plot, clever dialogue and fantastic characterisation are all what we’ve come to expect from Daniel Cole. But for me, there was something that kept it off being another five-star experience. It may seem a strange thing to write, but I missed the Technicolor scenes of blood and gore that feature so brilliantly in Ragdoll and Hangman – those gut churning tableaux that have you reading through screwed up eyelids.

At the start of Endgame, Cole explains that the trilogy is now complete but we can still expect more from the Ragdoll team. That must be music to the ears of his ever-growing army of fans. Please bring on book four forthwith – the gorier the better!

For more shocking crime scenes, try Rattle by Fiona Cummins. A locked-room mystery is at the heart of Rogues’ Holiday by Maxwell March,

Trapeze
Print/Kindle/iBook
£1.99

CFL Rating: 4 Stars


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related posts
News

New crime drama The Responder coming to BBC One

Best known to crime fiction lovers for his starring roles in the likes of Sherlock and Fargo, Martin Freeman is stepping into very different shoes for The Responder, written by author Tony Schumacher and set in Liverpool, which launches on BBC One at 9pm on…
KindlePrintReviews

Silver Pebbles by Hansjörg Schneider

Translated by Mike Mitchell — Basel CID Inspector Peter Hunkeler, first seen in translation in last year’s The Basel Killings, is stuck in traffic on his way to the train station. The Basel police department has received a tip off from their German counterparts that…
KindlePrintReviews

The Engine House by Rhys Dylan

Welsh crime fiction is looking forward to a big boost in 2022 with the Gwyl Crime Cymru Festival in Aberystwyth at the end of April, and The Engine House by Rhys Dylan is a good choice if you want to be transported to the wet,…
Crime Fiction Lover