iBookKindlePrintReviews

Death in the East

Written by Abir Mukherjee — The acclaimed Wyndham and Banerjee historical crime series returns with a fourth instalment. Was it really in 2016 that The Rising Man introduced us to Captain Sam Wyndham and Sergeant Surrender-not Banerjee? Most recently Wyndham was caught in the angry…
Read more
iBookKindlePrintReviews

Endgame

Written by Daniel Cole — Fans of Ragdoll and Hangman have been waiting impatiently for the final book in this trilogy. Well, here it is at last! Both of the previous books got five stars when they were reviewed on Crime Fiction Lover, so there’s…
Read more
PrintReviews

A Gentleman's Murder

Written by Christopher Huang — The year is 1924. In the Britannia Club, a swanky London gentlemen’s club exclusively for those who served in World War I, a friendly wager has been placed. The bet is between Captain Mortimer Wolfe and Albert Benson, a conscientious objector…
Read more
KindlePrintReviews

NTN: The Dying Game

Written by Asa Avdic, translated by Rachel Willson-Broyles — Fresh blood is spilt here in a debut novella penned by a Swedish broadcast journalist, which claims to please the fans of Suzanne Collins’ The Hunger Games and Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale. That is what…
Read more
Features

CIS: Rim of the Pit revisited

Today, when lists of new crime and thriller books are saturated with stories involving ever-more numerous and gruesome deaths for their fictional characters, a look back at the kinds of mysteries that emphasise puzzles over gore can be more than a bit refreshing. A classic…
Read more
KindlePrintReviews

The Ginza Ghost and Other Stories

Written by Keikichi Osaka, translated by Ho-Ling Wong — Tokyo has changed a great deal in the past century or so. There have been two catastrophic earthquakes, heavy bombing during World War II, and spiralling property prices that led to an eventual collapse. On the…
Read more
KindlePrintReviews

The Moai Island Puzzle

Written by Alice Arisugawa, translated by Ho-Ling Wong — Golden Age mysteries are formulaic and, far from being a flaw, it’s a major part of their appeal. The stories follow patterns, and the reward for readers is not in being tricked by a new and…
Read more