Frederick Forsyth wins 2012 Diamond Dagger

1 Mins read

The English thriller author Frederick Forsyth has won this year’s coveted Diamond Dagger, awarded by the Crime Writers’ Association. The writer of numerous war- and espionage-based novels, he’s best known for books such as The Day of the Jackal, The Odessa File and The Dogs of War. His meticulously plotted stories really go into the nitty gritty of how spying, assassinations, coups, money laundering and so forth actually take place.

His research techniques have even led to – or been used as an excuse for – his involvement in such activities. In 2006 admitted involvement in a 1973 coup plot in Equatorial Guinea.

“Frederick Forsyth is a hugely deserving recipient and The Day of the Jackal remains one of the greatest thrillers of our times,” said CWA chair Peter James. “He has set a new standard of research-based authenticity with his writing, which has had a major influence both on my work and on many of my contemporaries in the crime and thriller field. We are very thrilled that he has accepted this award.”

The award will be presented to him later this year. Previous winners have included Val McDermid, Ian Rankin and Elmore Leonard. With the Diamond Dagger the CWA aims to reward writers whose career work has made a significant contribution to English language crime fiction.

Today the CWA has also announced the estalishment of The Crime Readers’ Association. If you go to the CRA website and sign up for their newsletter you’ll be sent free goodies such as a sample chapter from Michael Ridpath’s upcoming novel, and be entered into a draw to win free tickets to CrimeFest in Bristol this May.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related posts

Martina Cole wins CWA Diamond Dagger 2021

It is almost 30 years after she was dismissed by some as a one-book wonder, now Martina Cole has been awarded the highest honour in British crime writing, the Crime Writers’ Association (CWA) Diamond Dagger. Having sold over 17 million books, Cole is Britain’s biggest…

Michael Connelly wins CWA Diamond Dagger 2018

Congratulations to Michael Connelly, who has been named as the 2018 winner of the Crime Writers’ Association’s Diamond Dagger, awarded to authors whose crime writing careers have been marked by sustained excellence, and who have made a significant contribution to the genre. The creator of Harry…

Peter James wins CWA Diamond Dagger 2016

Congratulations go out to Brighton author Peter James, who has bagged the prestigious Diamond Dagger from the UK’s Crime Writers’ Association for 2016. The award recognises his career producing brilliant crime novels and he is a well-known and well-liked author on the festival scene. James best-loved…
Crime Fiction Lover