Lee Child wins CWA Diamond Dagger 2013

1 Mins read

Lee Child photo (c) Sigrid EstradaThe Crime Writers Association has elected Lee Child its Diamond Dagger winner for 2013. The creator of Jack Reacher has won the award for his outstanding body of work, and in 2012 saw A Wanted Man, his 17th Reacher novel published. At the end of the year, the film Reacher was released starring Tom Cruise in the unlikely role of Child’s hulking hero.

A diamond-studded dagger will be presented to Lee Child at a dinner in the summer. Previous winners have included Val McDermid, Ian Rankin, Elmore Leonard and Frederick Forsyth. Founded in 1953, the CWA also celebrates its diamond jubilee this year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Related posts

Reacher arrives on Amazon Prime

It’s fair to say that crime fiction lovers were bemused, if not downright offended, by the casting of Tom Cruise as Jack Reacher in the 2012 film adaptation of Lee Child’s iconic character. While he’s a giant of the silver screen, Tom Cruise is nowhere…

Better Off Dead by Lee and Andrew Child

If ever there was a case of ‘it does what it says on the tin’ in crime fiction it’s the Jack Reacher novels. We really know what to expect and we get it every time. When it comes to ‘what would Reacher do?’ the answer…

Martina Cole wins CWA Diamond Dagger 2021

It is almost 30 years after she was dismissed by some as a one-book wonder, now Martina Cole has been awarded the highest honour in British crime writing, the Crime Writers’ Association (CWA) Diamond Dagger. Having sold over 17 million books, Cole is Britain’s biggest…
Crime Fiction Lover