The Collection

Written by Lance Charnes — In this first-person caper, set in the present day, narrator Matt Friedrich encounters a whole clockwork factory ticking toward deadlines, with…

Fever City

Tim Baker brings us a high voltage tale of kidnapping, the plot to murder JFK, and dark family secrets. His title can point us in…

Dodgers

Written by Bill Beverly — A modern crime classic in the tradition of Richard Price’s Clockers, Dodgers is the story of a youthful soldier in…

Fever City

Written by Tim Baker — A buzz has been building about this book, and it started long before its release, when the early copies went…

The Promise

Written by Robert Crais — Robert Crais’ Suspect was one of our top books of 2013, and I included it among my top five books of…

Forty Thieves

Written by Thomas Perry — Thomas Perry is an American thriller writer famous for his 1982 debut, The Butcher’s Boy, which we wrote about here in our…

The Crossing audiobook

Written by Michael Connelly, narrated by Titus Welliver — What a pleasure it is to enter the Los Angeles airspace of Harry Bosch and his…

A Better Goodbye

Written by John Schulian — If you’ve always wondered what goes on in those sketchy massage parlours, this expertly written and well paced debut thriller is your…

NTN: Tim Baker interviewed

Tim Baker’s debut novel, Fever City, is due to be published by Faber & Faber in January 2016 but it’s already generating quite a buzz.…

  • Published in Features

The Crossing

Written by Michael Connelly — I was never very good at maths but you need an abacus to crunch the numbers where Michael Connelly is concerned.…

Vortex

Written by Paul D Marks — Vortex is a first-person narrated novella which readers can blast through in a couple of hours. It’s a hardboiled thriller with strong…

The Samaritan

Written by Mason Cross — There’s a serial killer operating in Los Angeles, here in Mason Cross’ latest Carter Blake thriller. Trouble is, nobody realises it until…

Kiss and Tell

Written by Luke Murphy — Charlene Taylor is a case of like father, like daughter. Her dad was a highly regarded member of the LAPD, and…

I Am Death

Written by Chris Carter — Having quickly established himself as a master of the serial killer thriller, Chris Carter reunites Detectives Robert Hunter and Carlos Garcia…