Carnivore

Jonathan Lyon’s debut will have you baffled. Who is this urchin of a main character, going by the name of Leander? Why is he so…

Maria in the Moon

Written by Louise Beech — In the breakneck world of thrill-a-minute crime fiction, it does a reader good to take a little breather now and…

Carnivore

Written by Jonathan Lyon — A detective with a drinking problem and a failed marriage. A hitman who finds a conscience. The psychologically damaged character…

The Susan Effect

Written by Peter Hoeg, translated by Martin Aitken — Susan Svendsen and her family are away in India. Not together, mind you. Her husband, Laban,…

Interview: Gregory W Beaubien

Before he started writing novels, Gregory W Beaubien developed his writing skills and eye for telling detail as a journalist and feature writer. He’s now…

Ill Will

Written by Dan Chaon — Past and present crimes haunt the two main protagonists of this beautifully crafted new literary thriller. In the present day,…

All Things Cease to Appear

Written by Elizabeth Brundage, this book watches a drama unfold over many years. Part rural noir, part Gothic horror, with just a powdering of the…

The German Messenger

Written by David Malcolm — England, December 1916. The most destructive battle in world history has finally ended at the Somme and Europe is in the…

Jihadi: A Love Story

Yusuf Toropov’s novel deals with topics that may seem more at home on the pages of the daily papers – like terrorism and torture. Told alternately by the…

Dodgers

Written by Bill Beverly — A modern crime classic in the tradition of Richard Price’s Clockers, Dodgers is the story of a youthful soldier in…