The Accordionist

1 Mins read

The Accordionist is the third, final, and best book in Fred Vargas’ Three Evangelists series. Retired detective Louis Kehlweiler is trying to distance himself from the investigative life he left behind when a page six article about two women who have been murder draws him in. Meanwhile, the retired prostitute Marthe, a recurring character from this series, is sought out on the banks of the Seine by a 20-something accordionist name Clement. Clement is identical to the sketch the papers are running in conjunction with the murders but he swears his innocence. With nowhere to turn, Marthe pulls Kehlweiler into the cast and with him comes the help of the three evangelists. The Accordionist is a touching story about what drives us to find out the truth and help those we know and care about. A book teeming with humanity and tenderness, this is the perfect Vargas for those new to the writer and a satisfying conclusion to the trilogy for France’s four-time International Dagger winner. Read our full review here.

Related posts

Little Rebel by Jérôme Leroy

Translated by Graham H Roberts — This slim volume comes in the guise of a flyweight but punches like a super-heavyweight. Little Rebel is a thought-provoking novella that is also highly entertaining. A police inspector is seconded to the regional office for State Internal Security…

Rosy & John by Pierre Lemaitre

Translated by Frank Wynne — Pierre Lemaitre came to our attention in 2013 with his kidnap thriller, Alex, an original and gripping police procedural. It was actually the second in the series featuring diminutive Parisian detective, Camille Verhœven. The success of Alex, which has a…

French crime drama Time is a Killer coming to Walter Presents

Here’s a new crime show that will be of interest to anyone who enjoys their French crime fiction. Set in sunny Corsica, Time is a Killer will take you far away from the gritty streets of Paris, as seen in Spiral, and from the gloomy…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Crime Fiction Lover