THE SITE FOR DIE HARD CRIME & THRILLER FANS
FeaturesNews

Agatha Christie: The graphic novel

1 Mins read

Agatha01_875The independent publisher Self Made Hero is set to release a graphic novel perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, which goes on sale 10 May. Agatha: The Real Life of Agatha Christie begins with the author’s mysterious disappearance in December 1926 and turns into a biographical adventure with some of her fictional characters thrown in to be her companions.

Written by Anne Martinetti and Guillaume Lebeau, two French crime fiction lovers (and experts), the book’s artwork was created by Alexandre Franc. Its light and playful Gallic tone does away with any Anglo-Saxon seriousness making Agatha a delight to read, with artwork reminiscent of a newspaper’s political cartoon. The wit is there to match.

In the early part of the story, we see redhead Agatha ditching her car by a pool in Surrey, catching a train to London and then getting a connection to Harrogate, where she checks in at the Swan Hotel. While her husband is grilled by the police, and Conan Doyle comments that her disappearance is a brilliant publicity stunt, a troubled Agatha sits down with Hercule Poirot and muses about her husband’s infidelity.

Continuing in this whimsical style, the story spools back to her childhood and how she was inspired by books like The Hound of the Baskervilles, but also covers Agatha Christie’s later years. In 1968, she sits for a portrait by the expressionist Oskar Kokoschka and three years later goes to see the Queen. As you’d expect there are trains and isolated island settings, a trip to Egypt, and lots more chat with the diminutive Belgian.

The appendices at the back include a timeline stretching from Agatha Mary Clarissa Miller’s birth in 1890 to her death 1976, and a bibliography.

Here, you can feast your eyes on some of the artwork and if you tap the Amazon button below you can order a copy for £12.99, which is the going rate for a graphic novel these days. It’ll make a wonderful gift.

Agatha03_875

Agatha04_875

Agatha06_875

Agatha07_875

Agatha02_875


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related posts
KindlePrintReviews

Marple: Twelve New Stories

While Agatha Christie eventually grew tired of Hercule Poirot, describing him as ‘an egocentric creep’ and devising a deeply divisive ending for him, she retained her affection for the far more personable Miss Jane Marple. From her first appearance in The Tuesday Night Club, a…
iBookKindlePrintReviews

Everyone in My Family Has Killed Someone by Benjamin Stevenson

The Cunninghams are having a little family get-together at Sky Lodge, a snowbound mountain retreat in Australia, the perfect setting for mulled wine and murder. If your first thought is that this is one of those stories where a group of people get snowed in…
Features

Agatha Christie's Hjerson comes to More4 and Walter Presents

Klara Sandberg is a reality TV producer who’s had an epiphany. In the middle of the brainstorm for MILFs Hotel season seven, she decides all the ideas are rubbish. The whole thing is rubbish. She’d rather be doing something more important, something that matters. Perhaps…
Crime Fiction Lover