NTN: You could win a Dagger too…

1 Mins read

The Crime Writers’ Association is well known for the prestigious Dagger awards it gives out each year. Yesterday, the organisation opened its Debut Dagger competition, which aims to support new crime authors (and chimes very nicely with our themed month, New Talent November).

The Debut Dagger is open to entries until 2 February 2012, and it’s for authors who’ve never previously had a commercial novel published. Shortlisted entries will be revealed at CrimeFest in Bristol, and the winner will be announced at the CWA Awards in July. To enter, you need to produce the first 3000 words of your novel and synopsis of a further 500-1000 words telling the judges what the novel is about. It costs £25 to enter.

The winner will receive a £700 prize. The Debut Dagger is also a prestigious award in the eyes of publishers and past winners have gone on to considerable success. Belinda Bauer was Highly Commended in the competition in 2008 and her novel Badlands went on to win the CWA Gold Dagger in 2010. Allan Guthrie, Joolz Denby and Barbara Cleverly are all previous Debut Dagger winners. The 2012 winner was Sandy Gingras for her novel Beached.

All the shortlisted authors in 2013 will be given a free Manuscript Assessment from the CWA. Crime fiction experts at the CWA will critique your book for you, providing detailed feedback on how to hone your writing in a way that may help you get your novel published.

Click here to find out more about the Debut Dagger.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related posts

NTN: 2017's award-winning debuts

What do crime fiction lovers, agents and publishers all have in common? They are all hungry to discover the next big thing. However, the one thing many of us lack in this pursuit is time. One sure-fire shortcut is to check out which books have…

Western Fringes

Written by Amer Anwar — The CWA Debut Dagger award has been encouraging new writers to enter the genre for 15 years now. The submissions are judged by a panel of top crime editors and agents, and the shortlisted entries are sent to publishers and agents….

Take our Margery Allingham quiz - win The White Cottage Mystery

10 copies of The White Cottage Mystery up for grabs Writing in the 1920s and 30s, Margery Allingham became one of the ‘queens’ of Golden Age crime fiction, alongside the likes of Agatha Christie, Ngaio Marsh and Dorothy L Sayers. She is best known for her…
Crime Fiction Lover