RebusFest is coming to Edinburgh

1 Mins read

It all started on 19 March 1987. That’s the date Knots and Crosses, the very first Rebus novel, was released. To celebrate 30 years of the great Scottish detective, author Ian Rankin and publisher Orion Books are to stage RebusFest in Edinburgh. The city is Ian Rankin’s home, and is the setting for the entire series.

First edition front cover of Knots & Crosses

The event will take place 30 June to 2 July, and is being curated by Ian Rankin himself. Interactive events, tours of the city, live music and talks on Edinburgh’s history and its influence on the author are all being planned. The full schedule will be confirmed on 17 March, there will be a press launch in Edinburgh, and you’ll be able to find out more at

The announcement of the festival comes shortly after news that Ian Rankin is to be made a fellow of the Royal Society of Literature, for his contribution to contemporary fiction. He is already an OBE, has won four CWA Dagger Awards, and has an Edgar to his name as well. Rebus has become one of the best known police detectives not just in UK crime fiction, but around the world. He was played on television by John Hannah and Ken Stott, and has appeared in over 20 novels and an array of short stories. There’s even an app.

You can read our interview with Ian Rankin here, and our review of the latest Rebus novel, Rather Be the Devil, here. For more crime fiction events, click here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related posts

DeathBecomesHer: Top Five Books of 2022

I’ve had 10 years of doing this and it doesn’t get any easier, I can tell you. Crime fiction is such an eclectic genre but even so it is easy to get stuck into a rut. This year I endeavoured to move a little outside…

A Heart Full of Headstones by Ian Rankin

It comes as something of a shock to realise that John Rebus has been around for 35 years – he first appeared in Knots and Crosses, way back in 1987. A Heart Full of Headstones is the irascible ex-cop’s 24th outing in print and these…

On the Radar: Rebus is back

From the hallowed pubs and courthouses of Edinburgh, to the old age homes of Australia, below galleon decks, in attics and live (or dead) on stage at the Theatre Royale – crime lurks EVERYWHERE! What a fascinating lineup of new crime novels we have for…
Crime Fiction Lover