Who will win Dagger in the Library 2016?

1 Mins read

Crime_writers_DiLNominations are now open for the Crime Writers’ Association’s 2016 Dagger in the Library Award, and the winner will be chosen by the readers themselves. It’s a unique part of the Dagger awards, because it celebrates an author’s entire body of work rather than just one book and was created in response to the huge numbers of readers who flock to local libraries to borrow crime novels.

BryantMayBleedingHeart200Last year’s winner was Christopher Fowler, a prolific writer whose Bryant and May series is hugely popular. He will now join the panel of judges to help pick his successor.

To nominate your favourite author go to this website where, after completing the ballot, you will be automatically entered into a prize draw to win £200 in National Book Tokens. You’ll also be asked to nominate your favourite library – and the library receiving the most votes will win some great CWA Dagger prizes too.

This is first time the CWA has organised a library promotion for the award, and 150 have already signed up to take part. Any library wishing to get involved should contact CWA director Lucy Santos at for promotional materials.

Nominations close on 1 March 2016. After that the judging panel will whittle the long list down to a shortlist, which will be announced along with the shortlists for the other Dagger Awards later in the year.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related posts

On the Radar: Crime's young cannibals

Some topics are still treated as taboo even in crime fiction, and eating human flesh is one of them. When the taboo is broken, crime fiction lovers tend to remember it – just look at Red Dragon, The Silence of the Lambs, et al by…

On the Radar: The Peculiar Crimes Unit returns

Quirky, darkly comical and yet comforting in its own way, the Bryant & May series by Christopher Fowler is one of the best that British crime fiction has to offer. If you haven’t tried a novel from this series yet, it’s time to make amends….

Catherine Turnbull: Top five books of 2020

It’s not been the best year and travelling to more challenging past eras through the portal of modern historical crime novels and thrillers has been a welcome holiday from 2020. My selection includes books set in War World II, the dark and dangerous world of 19th century…
Crime Fiction Lover