Simon Brett wins CWA Diamond Dagger for 2014

1 Mins read

SimonBrett200Today the Crime Writers’ Association announced that British author Simon Brett will be awarded the 2014 Diamond Dagger Award. His diamond-studded instrument of death will be handed to him (handle first, hopefully) at a gala dinner on 30 June in London by academic Lucy Worsley, who presented the recent BBC documentary A Very British Murder.

The Diamond Dagger winner is elected annually by CWA members, and goes to a writer whose body of work has made a significant contribution to the genre. Brett is the author of over 90 books, within crime fiction and beyond, including the Charles Paris, Mrs Pargeter, Fethering and Blotto & Twinks series. His 1984 thriller A Shock to the System was adapted for film in 1990, and starred Michael Caine.

“He is a writer of great wit and integrity, and his success over the years has been very well deserved,” said CWA chair Alison Joseph. “The Diamond Dagger is awarded not only for a writer’s work but also for their contribution to the genre, and Simon has always been a stalwart supporter of his fellow writers.”

Previous winners have included Ian Rankin, Val McDermid, Frederick Forsyth and Elmore Leonard. Last year, the Diamond Dagger went to Lee Child, creator of Jack Reacher. We reviewed Simon Brett’s latest, The Strangling on the Stage, last week. Congratulations to Simon Brett! You can find out more about him on his website here.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related posts

Murder Under the Sun edited by Cecily Gayford

Sun, sea, sand and slaughter. What more could a body want from a summer holiday? Well, perhaps a decent all-you-can-eat buffet, a prime pool-side position and a good book to while away the time with. Luckily, Murder Under the Sun has the latter requirement covered…

Martina Cole wins CWA Diamond Dagger 2021

It is almost 30 years after she was dismissed by some as a one-book wonder, now Martina Cole has been awarded the highest honour in British crime writing, the Crime Writers’ Association (CWA) Diamond Dagger. Having sold over 17 million books, Cole is Britain’s biggest…

Michael Connelly wins CWA Diamond Dagger 2018

Congratulations to Michael Connelly, who has been named as the 2018 winner of the Crime Writers’ Association’s Diamond Dagger, awarded to authors whose crime writing careers have been marked by sustained excellence, and who have made a significant contribution to the genre. The creator of Harry…
Crime Fiction Lover