THE SITE FOR DIE HARD CRIME & THRILLER FANS
KindlePrintReviews

Invitation to Die

1 Mins read

invitationtodieWritten by Helen Smith — Winnie Kraster, book blogger and wannabe writer, is delighted when she receives an invitation to attend a conference in London organised by the Romance Writers of Great Britain. Finally, a glimmer of recognition for all her hard work reviewing under the pen-name Tallulah. Little does she know, however, that she will die soon after her arrival.

Young Londoner Emily Castle is not an amateur writer, but she is happy to earn some money, helping out with the organisation of the conference. She has a talent for managing the larger than life writer egos and for smoothing ruffled feathers. She becomes more than a little curious about just how Winnie died, much to the annoyance of the police, who believe she is over-dramatising matters. The eccentric list of characters that congregate at the Coram Hotel in Bloomsbury offer a world of possibilities and motives. Is this professional rivalry? Revenge for a bad review? Or is there something more sinister, even political at work?

If the plot sounds a little far-fetched, that’s because it is. There is something not wholly believable about the motivation of the murderer. Readers may also marvel at the way in which the amateur sleuth muddles her way through the investigation, yet manages to solve it all in front of an assembled audience. Yet this story is not so much about acrobatic twists of plotting, it’s more about ambiance and entertainment. In this respect, the book delivers. This is in essence a cosy crime read, with a delightfully satirical treatment of writers conferences, wannabe writers, bloggers and egos aplenty. I suspect many book reviewers and authors (romance or not) will recognise and laugh at some of the publishing industry foibles, as exposed here.

If there’s a quibble it is that Emily is not fully developed as a character. She is a bit too hesitant, too bland, especially when compared to all of the other colourful characters we encounter in these pages. All crime fiction readers, however, will find this a quick and fun read. Fans of MC Beaton’s Agatha Raisin or Simon Brett’s Mrs Pargeter series will enjoy the humour and slightly surreal quality of this novel.

Thomas & Mercer
Print/Kindle
£3.49

CFL Rating: 3 Stars

Buy now on Amazon

Related posts
AudiobookiBookKindlePrintReviews

The Thursday Murder Club by Richard Osman audiobook

Narrated by Leslie Manville — The audio version of Richard Osman’s cosy crime novel, The Thursday Murder Club, is loads of fun. Osman is a well known quiz show presenter in the UK and this is his debut crime novel. It has enjoyed phenomenal success…
KindlePrintReviews

The Corpse with the Iron Will by Cathy Ace

In Cathy Ace’s new cosy mystery, 10th in the ‘corpse’ series, Cait Morgan once again makes good use of her insight as a criminal psychologist and the investigative skills of her ex policeman husband, Bud. Their next-door neighbour, Gordy Krantz, in the early stages of…
KindlePrintReviews

Moonlight and Misadventure

Edited by Judy Penz Sheluk — Moonlight and Misadventure is the third short story anthology from Judy Penz Sheluk’s Superior Shores Press, and there’s lots here to like. For this collection, she’s attracted some of the best known and award-winning shorts masters from the US…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Crime Fiction Lover