CIS: The Big Sleep revisited

It’s impossible to imagine a proper historical survey of noir fiction without reference to Philip Marlowe, the iconic character created by Raymond Chandler in his ground-breaking 1939 debut…

  • Published in Features

IQ

Written by Joe Ide, narrated by Sullivan Jones — Japanese-American author Joe Ide grew up in South Central Los Angeles, and it’s obvious he kept…

The Last Meridian

Written by Joe Hefferon — Author Joe Hefferon spent 25 years in law enforcement in gritty Newark, New Jersey. That experience undoubtedly colored his view of…

The Late Show

Written by Michael Connelly — You’re a crime writer at the top of your game, author of a best-selling series and creator of some of…

Triggerman

Written by Walter Hill and Matz, artwork by Jef – American film director Walter Hill (The Warriors, 48Hrs) and French writer Matz met when Hill…

Interview: Bill Beverly

When American author Bill Beverly’s debut novel Dodgers came out last year, straight away it received a five-star review here on Crime Fiction Lover. It…

Lola

Written by Melissa Scrivner Love — Lola, the energetic protagonist of this Los Angeles-based crime thriller, is an eminently likeable young woman, flirting with death at…

The Caller

Written by Chris Carter — FaceTime and Skype are great inventions, aren’t they? You can chat face to face with somebody who is the other…

The Collection

Written by Lance Charnes — In this first-person caper, set in the present day, narrator Matt Friedrich encounters a whole clockwork factory ticking toward deadlines, with…

Fever City

Tim Baker brings us a high voltage tale of kidnapping, the plot to murder JFK, and dark family secrets. His title can point us in…

Dodgers

Written by Bill Beverly — A modern crime classic in the tradition of Richard Price’s Clockers, Dodgers is the story of a youthful soldier in…

Fever City

Written by Tim Baker — A buzz has been building about this book, and it started long before its release, when the early copies went…