iBookKindlePrintReviews

The Fire Pit

Written by Chris Ould — Book three in this series set in the Faroe Islands sees the British detective Jan Reyna trying to find out more about the suicide of his mother back in the 1970s. At more than 450 pages, it’s a long read, but…
Read more
iBookKindlePrintReviews

The Killing Bay

Written by Chris Ould — The Blood Strand, the first book in Ould’s Faroes series, was recommended for fans of Henning Mankell and Elizabeth George. The Killing Bay is book two and is also set on the remote Faroe Islands, featuring transplanted English policeman DI Jan Reyna. Reyna is…
Read more
Features

Interview: Chris Ould interviewed

When you’ve explored crime fiction from Sweden, Norway, Denmark and Finland, there’s always Iceland to extend your horizons. But where can the lover of Nordic noir go after that? Well, one destination is the Faroe Islands. Settled by the Vikings over 1000 years ago, these 18…
Read more
Book Club

The Last Refuge

When Scotsman John Callum arrives in the Faroe Islands, he discovers a place that’s as forlorn and remote as he is. Callum is running from something, but it’s not clear what. For a while, it seems like he might just achieve the quiet solitude he…
Read more
Book Club

The Last Refuge

When Scotsman John Callum arrives in the Faroe Islands, he discovers a place that’s as forlorn and remote as he is. Callum is running from something, but it’s not clear what. For a while, it seems like he might just achieve the quiet solitude he…
Read more
iBookKindlePrintReviews

The Last Refuge

Written by Craig Robertson — There’s a telling scene early in Craig Robertson’s latest mystery where the main character, John Callum, is attacked by two birds while hill walking. Once a teacher, he’s arrived on the Faroe Islands from a rougher part of Glasgow and…
Read more