The Killing Bay

Written by Chris Ould — The Blood Strand, the first book in Ould’s Faroes series, was recommended for fans of Henning Mankell and Elizabeth George. The Killing…

The Mine

Written by Antti Tuomainen, translated by David Hackston — Janne Vuori, an idealistic investigative journalist on the staff of Helsinki Today, has a thankless job and a failing…

Devil in the Grass

Written by Christopher Bowron — This debut thriller is an ambitious mix of Florida politics, Satanic cults, Seminole tradition, alligators and even a bull shark. Canadian author…

NTN: HN Wake interviewed

HN Wake is a pseudonym. The author used to be a US government employee and it seems possible she’s got the inside track on spying and intelligence……

  • Published in Features

We Shall Inherit the Wind

With a somewhat philosophical title, this is Gunnar Staalesen’s latest Varg Veum book to appear in English. As a private detective, Veum is unusual in…

The Greenland Breach

Written by Bernard Besson, translated by Julie Rose — You can count on Bernard Besson, former senior chief of staff for the French intelligence services,…

Light of the World

Written by James Lee Burke — This is the 20th in a long and successful series featuring Dave Robicheux, a haunted and intense police officer…