iBookKindlePrintReviews

The Killing Bay

Written by Chris Ould — The Blood Strand, the first book in Ould’s Faroes series, was recommended for fans of Henning Mankell and Elizabeth George. The Killing Bay is book two and is also set on the remote Faroe Islands, featuring transplanted English policeman DI Jan Reyna. Reyna is…
Read more
iBookKindlePrintReviews

The Mine

Written by Antti Tuomainen, translated by David Hackston — Janne Vuori, an idealistic investigative journalist on the staff of Helsinki Today, has a thankless job and a failing marriage. These factors ensure he is easily lured into a very big story that arrives via an anonymous email tip. The country’s…
Read more
iBookKindlePrintReviews

A Siege of Bitterns

Written by Steve Burrows – Described as a birder murder mystery, A Siege of Bitterns is the first in a series aimed at crime fans and birdwatchers alike. The novel is one of the first issued by Point Blank, a new imprint from Oneworld focused on…
Read more
PrintReviews

Devil in the Grass

Written by Christopher Bowron — This debut thriller is an ambitious mix of Florida politics, Satanic cults, Seminole tradition, alligators and even a bull shark. Canadian author Christopher Bowron is clearly familiar with the southwest Florida setting, which he describes expertly, bringing the story to vivid life….
Read more
Features

NTN: HN Wake interviewed

HN Wake is a pseudonym. The author used to be a US government employee and it seems possible she’s got the inside track on spying and intelligence… but we have no firm proof of what she did before becoming a writer. She creates characters like Mac Ambrose, a…
Read more
Recommended

We Shall Inherit the Wind

With a somewhat philosophical title, this is Gunnar Staalesen’s latest Varg Veum book to appear in English. As a private detective, Veum is unusual in Scandinavian crime fiction and here he’s hired by a woman to find her missing husband. He’s an executive in a…
Read more
iBookKindlePrintReviews

We Shall Inherit the Wind

Written by Gunnar Staalesen, translated by Don Bartlett — Little known fact: there is a statue of Gunnar Staalesen’s private detective character Varg Veum in the author’s home town of Bergen, Norway. We can begin to appreciate why with the translation of the 14th instalment of…
Read more
iBookKindlePrintReviews

The Greenland Breach

Written by Bernard Besson, translated by Julie Rose — You can count on Bernard Besson, former senior chief of staff for the French intelligence services, to be topical and well-informed. His thrillers are always leading edge in terms of subject matter and spyware methodology. After…
Read more