iBookKindlePrintReviews

Syndrome E

Written by Franck Thilliez, translated by Mark Pilozzotti — Franck Thilliez has written many bestsellers in his native France. If his other books are of equal quality to this complex, multi-layered thriller, then Penguin, publisher of this translation, can rest assured it has picked a winner. Syndrome E…
Read more
iBookKindlePrintReviews

Pretty Is

Written by Maggie Mitchell — The appetite for domestic noir seems insatiable, so it’s not surprising that this debut novel by American writer Maggie Mitchell has been marketed as perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train. There are some similarities, but to my…
Read more
News

Kobo Emerging Writer Awards for mystery

Though it doesn’t have the muscle of Amazon, the Canadian company Kobo – which sells its digital ereaders as an alternative to the Kindle – is doing all it can to support crime writers in the Great White North. This year it launches the inaugural Kobo…
Read more
iBookKindlePrintReviews

The Devil You Know

Written by Elisabeth de Mariaffi — Canada is often thought of as a gentler, safer, and dare I say it, more boring version of its southern neighbour. Canadian citizens are less brash, perhaps less overtly patriotic than Americans, and the country’s gun laws are tighter….
Read more
Book Club

The Long Way Home

For long-standing fans of Penny’s Armand Gamache series, it will be a relief to know that retirement does not slow down this former Head of Homicide for the Sûreté du Québec. This latest book is more of a personal quest as well as a missing…
Read more
iBookKindlePrintReviews

The Bone Seeker

Written by MJ McGrath — After adventures taking in Ellesmere Island and Greenland in White Heat, and Alasaka in The Boy in the Snow, Edie Kiglatuk is back on Ellesmere for her third mystery. The half-Inuit heroine isn’t really a detective, she’s a hunter and…
Read more
iBookKindlePrintReviews

The Long Way Home

Written by Louise Penny — Louise Penny has a devoted audience of readers who eagerly await each of her novels featuring Québecois detective Armand Gamache – and I am no exception. We were all on tenterhooks to see if the good inspector’s retirement from his…
Read more
PrintReviews

The Poisoned Pawn

Written by Peggy Blair — Like many other crime fiction readers, I was bowled over by Canadian author Peggy Blair’s debut novel The Beggars’ Opera – available in the UK as Midnight in Havana. So, I was eagerly awaiting the second in the series. The…
Read more