Book Club


1 Mins read

Alife Marsden mysteriously vanishes one night in a dense wood on the border between Wales and England in Matt Wesolowski’s latest. He is searched for and never found. After 30 years, the boy is declared dead. Fast-forward to the present day and true crime podcaster Scott King receives a mysterious letter claiming there is information about Alfie Marsden and King decides to get to the truth of the matter. Written as a podcast transcription in six parts, Wesoloski has created a new and terrific form with his Six Stories series. The variety of interviews and voices create a Rashomon-effect as we, along with King, sort through the various accounts of what really happened that night and in the subsequent years. Great fun and an addictive narrative. The supernatural elements, along with the personal stories told through interviews and monologue, make this a delicious read. Read the full review here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Related posts

Rook by Stephen G Eoannou

True crime and crime fiction that feels like true crime are very popular at the moment. Sometimes it’s hard to tell whether the story you’re reading actually happened or not. Which is fine, as long as it’s a good story. With Rook, Buffalo-based author Stephen…

Val McDermid's Karen Pirie comes to ITV

Val McDermid’s cold case police detective Karen Pirie is coming to the small screen in September 2022 in a new three-part ITV crime drama. Adapted from the first novel in the six-book series, The Distant Echo, the programme will star Lauren Lyle of Outlander fame…

More Than You’ll Ever Know by Katie Gutierrez

Katie Gutierrez’s debut novel is a story of family, secrets, trauma and the complexity of relationships, told through the eyes of two women – Dolores Rivera and Cassie Bowman. Cassie is an aspiring true crime writer, but for the moment she earns her money by…
Crime Fiction Lover