The Crime Thriller Awards 2014 – the winners

1 Mins read

thisdarkroadtomercyUS200Last night at London’s famous Grosvenor House on Park Lane, the great and the good of the crime fiction world were hosted by Specsavers, sponsor of the ITV Crime Thriller Awards. Celebrating crime television, film and books, the event saw three new inductees to the Crime Thriller Hall of Fame – Scottish author Denise Mina, English writer Robert Harris and Midsomer Murders.

“Vive le thriller,” Harris proclaimed in an acceptance speech that referenced France’s infamous Dreyfus Affair, as the author called for greater literary respect for the genre.

Harris, well known thanks to his mold-breaking book Fatherland, also gathered in the CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger for An Officer and a Spy. The CWA Goldboro Gold Dagger for crime novel of the year went to Wiley Cash for his southern noir novel This Dark Road to Mercy. The author couldn’t make the awards due to the recent birth of his daughter but sent a video greeting.

New talent
The John Creasey New Blood Dagger went to Ray Celestin for The Axeman’s Jazz – watch for more new talent in our upcoming theme month New Talent November. Peter May was the winner of the ITV Crime Thriller Club Best Book Award for Entry Island, which is set on an island in the Gulf of St Lawrence, Canada.

EntryIsland200The TV stars were out too with Stanley Tucci of the upcoming show Fortitude presenting the Film Dagger to the makers of Cold in July. Happy Valley and True Detective won two awards each with the former taking the TV Dagger as well as Best Supporting Actor which wen to James Norton. True Detective swooped in for the International TV Dagger with strong competition from Fargo, Inspector Montalbano and The Bridge 2. Its star Matthew McConaughey won Best Actor. Amanda Abbington of Sherlock won Best Supporting Actress and Best Actress went to Keeley Hawes, who was in Line of Duty.

Highlights for your humble correspondent included meeting Mark Gatiss, Denise Mina, Mark Billingham, Greg Iles and SJ Parris.

Read our listing of the 20 best crime shows ever here. The awards will be broadcast on ITV3 in the coming week.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related posts

Happy Valley returns to the BBC for season three

Happy Valley might not be the best title for this hit crime drama. It’s not about a Chinese takeaway and nor does the Calder Valley, where it’s set, seem a particularly happy place. Not in a show dealing with violence against women, rape, suicide, addiction,…

Harrogate 2022 – the crime fiction festival has its biggest ever year

Heading to the final day of the Theakston Crime Writing Festival in Harrogate, I met a man walking with his young son, wobbling along on a trike. “What’s going on at the Old Swan?” he asked. “If I told you, I might have to kill…

Confidence by Denise Mina

Denise Mina is back with the second in her new ‘C-series’, featuring Anna and Fin. 2019’s Conviction introduced us to podcast fanatic Anna McDonald and rockstar Fin Cohen as their lives were turned upside down by failed marriages and they embarked on a non-romantic adventure…
Crime Fiction Lover