Lehane grabs Best Novel Edgar

1 Mins read

livebynightLast night New York City played host to the 67th annual Edgar Awards, hosted by the Mystery Writers of America, but it was Boston boy Dennis Lehane who grabbed the Best Novel prize for Live by Night.

The second novel in his series exploring crime, family and the American experience, Live by Night focuses on the story of Joe Coughlin, a policeman’s son who choses to plough his furrow on the other side of the law in the 1920s and 30s. You can read the Crime Fiction Lover review here. It’s Lehane’s second Edgar – he shared one with the other writers on TV series The Wire back in 2007.

The Best First Novel by an American Author gong went to Chris Pavone for The Expats, while Ben H Winters grabbed Best Original Paperback with The Last Policeman, which our contributor MyBookishWays rated as her favourite book of 2012. It’s also on our Recommended list to the right. Winters’ new book Countdown City has just been announced.

Noted crime novelist Karin Slaughter showed that she hasn’t lost her touch with short form fiction, winning Best Short Story with The Unremarkable Heart. Meanwhile, high stature authors Ken Follett and Margaret Maron both received the coveted Grandmaster Edgars. Jack D Ferraiolo and Elizabeth Wein grabbed Juvenile and Young Adult Edgars respectively.

The Mystery Writers of America also gives an award for TV adaptations of crime novels and here the BBC came up trumps with the Sherlock episode A Scandal in Belgravia. The teleplay was adapted from Conan Doyle’s work by Steven Moffat. For a full listing of the winners click here.

Related posts

On the Radar: Crystal skulls are Ace

Pirate treasure in the Caribbean. It’s generally agreed in literature and filmmaking that this kind of booty is definitely worth killing for and that’s what seems to happen in our lead novel this week – a light and distracting new cosy from Cathy Ace. We’ve…

Exit Wounds

Edited by Paul B Kane and Marie O’Regan — When the cover of a new book of short stories is emblazoned with the names of some of the best-selling and award-winning crime fiction authors – Lee Child, Val McDermid, Dean Koontz, John Connolly, Dennis Lehane…

The Paris Diversion

Written by Chris Pavone — The Paris Diversion is the followup to Chris Pavone’s award-winning debut thriller from 2013, The Expats. In the new book, former CIA agent Kate Moore is living in Paris with her husband Dexter when the ghosts from that earlier story…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Crime Fiction Lover