THE SITE FOR DIE HARD CRIME & THRILLER FANS
FeaturesNews

First look: The video nasty Harrow Lake

1 Mins read
Harrow Lake Kat Ellis unpack

Here’s a nice little bit of pre-release marketing that came through from Penguin Random House recently. Instead of the usual early-proof-in-a-Jiffy, for Harrow Lake by Kat Ellis, the PR team sent out an envelope styled just like one from Blockbuster Video.

Nostalgia.

The book is a horror title in the vein of Stephen King or Alfred Hitchcock, but for the Netflix generation. This throwback style ties those ideas together and at the same time reminds us of the days when ‘video nasty’ was a favourite phrase in The Daily Mail vocabulary and Mary Whitehouse ruled on morality and censorship.

Harrow Lake Kat Ellis unpack

Inside there’s a cardboard box that looks just like an old VHS cassette slipcase. The stark illustration on a red background comes with the streamline ‘I know what you’ll read this summer…’ to continue the horror theme.

Harrow Lake Kat Ellis unpack

Here you can see the advance review copy’s spine within the slipcase, printed like the label sticker on a video tape. The book itself is about Lola Nox, daughter of a filmmaker who specialises in horror. She’s arrived at Harrow Lake to live with the grandmother she’s never met after an attack on her father in New York.

Harrow Lake Kat Ellis unpack

On the rear of the slipcase, you can read more about the plot, including details about the local legend, Mister Jitters, and the horror film Nightjar, which was filmed 20 years earlier at Harrow Lake. Rated R for Readable. Nice.

Harrow Lake Kat Ellis unpack

The review copy itself really looks the part, even replicating that clipped, levered contraption that protected the tape but would flip up once inside your VCR.

Harrow Lake Kat Ellis unpack

Arguably, the back of the book looks even more authentic with the toothed apertures for the rotors to click into.

Harrow Lake Kat Ellis unpack

Inside, transcripts that are part of the story bear interference patterns just like you’d have seen on a CRT screen when your VCR’s tracking was off, or if the recording had been damaged by a magnetic field.

Harrow Lake comes out on 9 July. It actually has a yellow cover, and you can pre-order it below. The author is based in the wilds of North Wales and has two cats. Authors do, don’t they? Have two cats.

We might give this printing away in a competition once we resume them on our Facebook page.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Related posts
iBookKindlePrintReviews

Hide by Kiersten White

Out in the middle of the desert exists an abandoned amusement park with a terrible hidden history. Fourteen young adults, desperate for fame or money, have signed up to try and win a $50,000 contest. If they spend a week in the park without getting…
KindlePrintReviews

Cover Story by Susan Rigetti

Like a clever jigsaw puzzle, Susan Rigetti’s crime fiction debut, Cover Story, about a world-class financial swindler and con artist gives you a lot of pieces, and it takes a while for them to start fitting together, allowing the full picture to emerge. The story…
iBookKindlePrintReviews

Dead Wind by Tessa Wegert

In the third novel in Tessa Wegert’s Shana Merchant series, our protagonist and her colleague, Tim Wellington, are called out to Wolfe Island, Ontario, where the body of a middle-aged woman has been found at the base of a wind turbine at a wind farm…
Crime Fiction Lover