Features

Interview: Bill Beverly

When American author Bill Beverly’s debut novel Dodgers came out last year, straight away it received a five-star review here on Crime Fiction Lover. It went on to win the Gold Dagger at the 2016 CWA awards. Telling the story of a gang of black youths…
Read more
Features

Mal McEwan: Top five books of 2016

The glorious potential of crime fiction to lead us into other lives and times is unsurpassed. My list will lead you to various corners of the globe but I have, inevitably, opted for a slice of Scotland too. All these books have a strong sense…
Read more
Features

NTN: The five best debuts of 2016

Isn’t it exciting when you discover a brilliant new author? One whose book you can tell your friends about, and then wait for their second novel to see if it’s as good as the first. That’s what it’s like with these five authors because our…
Read more
iBookKindlePrintReviews

Dodgers

Written by Bill Beverly — A modern crime classic in the tradition of Richard Price’s Clockers, Dodgers is the story of a youthful soldier in the south Los Angeles drug trade. East, a black 16-year-old, is a yardman for a drug house, which means he…
Read more
News

Wake up call!

On the Radar — Welcome to On the Radar, our weekly news column featuring the latest crime releases. What we want to do this week is wake you up to a domestic noir sizzler called In Her Wake from the indie publisher Orenda Books. There’s…
Read more