THE SITE FOR DIE HARD CRIME & THRILLER FANS
FeaturesNews

Message in a bottle…

2 Mins read

Undertow_firstlook_875_01“Just a castaway, an island lost at sea (oh)!” The latest piece of book marketing to arrive reminds me of that famous 1979 Police song, Message in a Bottle. It didn’t arrive via water – that, I would love to see – but it did come in a rather fetching aqua envelope and if you’ll allow me to be poetic the bubble-wrap protecting it was vaguely reminiscent of sea foam.

But what is in this bottle, and what does it have to say? Has someone written a book based on Sting’s castaway? Sadly, no. But what we do have is publisher Quercus’ big hope for the summer, a book called Undertow by Elizabeth Heathcote. You can read the note found in the bottle below and it’ll give a a taste of what the book is about.

Undertow_firstlook_875_02

The note might give you a sense that the book, released 1 September, is a new example of domestic noir, and you’d probably be correct. A separate letter in the package, from Quercus Fiction publisher Stefanie Bierwerth likens it to Gone Girl, Before I Go To Sleep and The Girl on the Train. It also drops the names Patricia Highsmith, Barbara Vine and Alfred Hitchcock. So, it’s got suspense, a psychological edge, and maybe a bit of you-though-you-knew-him-but-really-you-don’t. To me, the cover kind of says ‘haircut’, though I do love that aqua-ish colour.

Undertow_firstlook_875_04

The story, it says here, is about Carmen, a young journalist who after two years of marriage suspects that the accidental death of her husband’s lover, the woman he left his first wife and three children for, may not have been an accident at all. She starts investigating the woman’s death and digs up all sorts of secrets and lies. We are promised a pacy novel with great characters and, um… oh yes… surprises. It’s heart-pounding, and for fans of Disclaimer and Apple Tree Yard, says the big barn door publicity card that you hardly ever see these days.

Undertow_firstlook_875_06

Actually, the more I think about it, the more I like the sound of it and I’m betting by the cover and the packaging that there’s some kind of watery denouement for either the protagonist, Carmen, or the villain. You could say I’m being dragged along in the Undertow, which reminds me of another song – this time Weezer. “All along the undertow is strengthening it’s hold, I never thought it would come to this, now I can never go home…”

There are some more pics below. Just click the button to pre-order Undertow.

Where do they find envelopes that colour?

Undertow_firstlook_875_03

The author Elizabeth Heathcote is a journalist who once interviewed Jade Goody about cancer, and who is also addicted to psychological crime fiction.

Undertow_firstlook_875_05

Here’s a three-quarter shot of the cover, just because.

undertow_firstlook_875_07

Related posts
iBookKindlePrintReviews

The Therapist by Helene Flood

Translated by Alison McCullough — There are thousands of psychological thrillers out there. These tend to play as much on the psychology of the reader as that of the characters involved. Authors build suspense by playing with your assumptions about what is going to happen,…
Recommended

Long Bright River

In Liz Moore’s police thriller, the main characters are a Philadelphia police officer, Mickey Fitzpatrick, and her recidivist drug addict sister, Kacey. A lot of rough water has swirled under the bridge of their relationship – pain and hope and love and betrayal in alternating…
iBookKindlePrintReviews

Sleepless by Romy Hausmann

Translated by Jamie Bulloch — Dear Child, Romy Hausmann’s debut which was published in English last year, proved to be a breath of fresh air for the stale psychological noir sub-genre of mainstream crime fiction. It subverted the tired clichés and tropes while at the…

1 Comment

Leave a Reply to Smithereens Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Crime Fiction Lover